Loading Events

WI Book Festival Book Talk: The Viral Underclass (Steven Thrasher)

Friday10/146:00 pm - 6:50 pm

From preeminent LGBTQ scholar, social critic and journalist Steven W. Thrasher comes a powerful and crucial exploration of one of the most pressing issues of our times: how viruses expose the fault lines of society.

Having spent a ground-breaking career studying the racialization, policing and criminalization of HIV, Thrasher has come to understand a deeper truth at the heart of our society: that there are vast inequalities in who is able to survive viruses and that the ways in which viruses spread, kill and take their toll are much more dependent on social structures than they are on biology alone.

Told through the heart-rending stories of friends, activists and teachers navigating the novel coronavirus, HIV and other viruses, Thrasher brings the reader with him as he delves into the viral underclass and lays bare its inner workings. In the tradition of Isabel Wilkerson’s Caste and Michelle Alexander’s The New Jim Crow, The Viral Underclass helps us understand the world more deeply by showing the fraught relationship between privilege and survival.

Steven W. Thrasher, Ph.D., holds the inaugural Daniel H. Renberg chair at Northwestern University’s Medill School, the first journalism professorship in the world created to focus on LGBTQ research. He is also a faculty member of Northwestern’s Institute of Sexual and Gender Minority Health and Wellbeing. A columnist for Scientific American, his writing has been widely published by The New York Times, Nation, The Atlantic, Journal of American History, BuzzFeed News, Esquire and New York Magazine.

Join us at Central Library Community Room 302 for this Wisconsin Book Festival event.

Event Type:
Talks
Target Age/Grade:
High School/College/Adult
Facebook:
#wibookfest
Instagram:
#wibookfest
Twitter:
#wibookfest

Venue:

Madison Central Library
201 W. Mifflin St.
Madison, 53703 United States
608-266-6300
http://www.madisonpubliclibrary.org/central

Contact:

Wisconsin Book Festival
http://www.wisconsinbookfestival.org/

Share Event:

Search Events

  • YYYY dash MM dash DD
Clear filter

By participating in events held, sponsored, or promoted by Wisconsin Science Festival, you agree to assume all risk related to COVID-19 and release from liability the Wisconsin Science Festival and its affiliated partners and sponsors, as more fully set forth at WiSciFest.org/termsandconditions.  Learn about the year-round community programs at the Discovery Building.

Copyright 2022